The Wizarding World of Harry Potter!

IMG_20160523_183746

A dream of mine came true earlier this week when I visited the newly opened Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Studios Hollywood! Jonathan and I were in California to celebrate graduation parties, and I knew we had to go to Harry Potter world since it just opened in April. My sister, Katherine, joined Jonathan and I. We were full decked out in Harry Potter shirts we ordered especially for this trip. I’ve not had the chance to go to Orlando’s Harry Potter world, and I could hardly contain my excitement at the opportunity to go to the new park in Los Angeles! By the way, I’m a Harry Potter fan, if you can’t tell…

I have to admit that I had pretty high expectations – I couldn’t help myself! – but they were exceeded by this beautiful, magical place. The attention to detail is staggering. You are truly in the Harry Potter films as you walk through Hogsmeade and Hogwarts.

We had early admission, which was a fantastic idea. The Harry Potter section was practically empty. It was early, and still somewhat dark, but we were able to ride the famed 3D Forbidden Forest twice in a row with a 10 minute line! We then went directly on the Flight of the Hippogriff ride, which was my favorite! Flight of the Hippogriff (pictured below) had an awesome Buckbeak animatronic, and was placed in Hagrid’s pumpkin patch. Hagrid’s log cabin was also there, too!

IMG_20160523_093000

IMG_20160523_092947

Oh my gosh, doesn’t it look so real?! It’s amazing. After enjoying the rides, we started exploring the shops. Honeyduke’s especially hit the mark. I mean look at that! You can even see the look of delight on the woman in the picture below!

IMG_20160523_095420

We bought Fizzing Whizabees and a Chocolate Frog, and we were impressed at the quality of the chocolate! Delicious! We also explored all the other shops, and it was all so much fun. A feast for the eyes!

IMG_20160523_140754

DSC_0159

My hair sort of bunched up weird in the above photo, but isn’t that astrological wallpaper awesome? In the midst of exploring, we also caught a couple shows – the dance performances of Beauxbatons and Durmstrang as well as the Hogwarts choir. We grabbed some refreshments, too, and pumpkin juice is delicious! A yummy cinnamon spice flavor, plus that adorable pumpkin cap! I only wish I could have brought some home with me.

IMG_20160523_134333    IMG_20160523_134137

IMG_20160523_141626

IMG_20160523_135139

I insisted on having dinner at the Three Broomsticks. It was delicious, and the food looked exactly like the replicas they put out to help you order. Does that seriously ever happen? That sticky toffee pudding was also so good! Plus the Three Broomsticks looks exactly like it does in the films.

IMG_20160523_180722

If only I could take the Hogwarts Express off to a real Wizarding education! Oh well, this is definitely the next best thing! I’ll treasure this experience for a long time to come, and I still have some Honeyduke’s chocolate to enjoy!

IMG_20160523_133304

IMG_20160523_095915 (1)

Leave a Reply

