Happy Independence Day!

IMG_1862

We had a fantastic 4th of July! We had friends come on over for brisket bbq and fireworks. Lots and lots of fireworks. Jonathan definitely has a thing for fireworks, and he purchased two cartloads of fireworks. I still can’t believe we went through all of them (though it did take five hours, seriously). Last year, actually, our neighbors told us that it seemed like World War III was going on in our backyard! I made a strawberry and blueberry shortcake to help us celebrate patriotically. I also read the Declaration of Independence again (I have a pocket Constitution with the Declaration – very handy). We decided to cater (okay, I decided, since I wasn’t up to cooking that much; the shortcake was enough), and the whole hangout went so smoothly. Plus it was tons of fun! Happy Independence Day!

IMG_1867

It was hot and humid, and it actually rained when we ate, so we ate inside, but other than that, we were outside throwing firecrackers and more! We had pretty lights strung up and plenty of citronella torches. Our patio is quite different from when we first moved in, with the paving stones and picnic table and hammock, etc.

IMG_1879    IMG_1880IMG_1883IMG_1892 (1)IMG_1898 IMG_1896

As it got dark, we started firing off fireworks! The guys could hardly wait. The sun had barely set before they were setting everything up, starting with sparklers.

IMG_1915 IMG_1900IMG_1906

As I said, it was humid (I don’t even notice the humidity anymore, truly), but my camera did. It fogged up for several minutes when I took it outside, but I decided to shoot anyways. I was amazed by how beautiful the foggy camera shots of the fireworks were! The first photo was not fogged, but these next two are. Isn’t that so lovely?  The bursts of fireworks are just iridescent with color and light. I hope you had a wonderful 4th of July, too! The Declaration of Independence is so incredible, and I am proud to be part of a country that expressed itself so eloquently and nobly for the cause of democracy and independence. It changed the world, and still is.

IMG_1917    IMG_1918IMG_1925

 

Leave a Reply

